BinaryOptions.net Forums General

A Happy Computer = A Happy Trader.

BryanMacBryanMac Posts: 851 ✭✭✭
Hello Traders!!

Wanted to cover a few things about keeping your computer happy. Why is this important? If you use MT4 or MT5 to trade depending on your computer specs and the indicators you use and can bog your computer down. Your computer is also your single most important piece of equipment you have, and probably the most expensive so why not take the time to give it a little loving. I typically do maintenance on my computer every other Saturday to make sure its running at peak performance.

Before we get going quick note if you do not feel comfortable doing any of the steps I am going to cover do not seek professions help. I have a BA in Computer Science and I am also a Microsoft Certified System Engineer so I do know what i am talking about here.

We will not be doing anything crazy just some simple steps to keep your computer and MT4 clean and healthy.

Lets start off with MT4. (IF YOU DO NOT DO BACK TESTING FROM YOUR MT4)

1) Go to your MT4 folder, look up folder "logs" and delete logs, leave just the last one, you don't need them. There is one more "logs" folder in "experts" folders - delete those logs too, leave just the last one.

2) Open MT4, go to Tools -> Options -> Chart tab and enter manually new values into two boxes below.
1000 is enough, indicators need only 300 - 700 to work properly.
Only reason for larger values is testing strategies but if you need fast MT4 for trading, just get another MT4 for testing purposes.

I set both of mine to 5000 just to be on the safe side.

Pretty simple and you should see some nice results from it.

I have 2 MT4 installations one is for back-testing and the other is for live.

Next up on the chopping block is your PC itself.

You will want to download and install the following programs: (Decline any trial offers with them)

So to make this easy head on over to http://ninite.com/