BinaryOptions.net Forums General

MIFID II, It's Impact & The Future of Binaries

BinaryLadBinaryLad Posts: 2
As a quick into. I've been trading binaries successfully for a good living and I'm in my 5th year. Not saying its been plain sailing and I've learnt a lot in that time. I've been working in investment banks for 20+ years prior to trading my own book so I wasn't exactly inexperienced when I started.

I could choose whatever product I wanted but I chose Binaries for some simple reasons. I needed to develop a trading algo and with a binary trade all you care about is direction over a given timeframe. With other products, physical, CFD's, etc. you not only have to get the direction and timeframe your algo also has to understand how big the movement will be so binaries only need half the effort in terms of algo development. Of course there are other risk / financial management factors such as you know exactly what the profit / loss will be before entering the trade. I would never use leverage but if you do you also then have fees, etc. to also factor in. Unless you have $1m to risk you can't make a living from physicals / CFD's / etc. without leverage. In short binaries are technically far easier and easier to quantify from a risk / financial management perspective. Of course if you don't know what you are doing or don't do things properly you are going to loose money - doesn't matter what product you use to trade. I suppose it's simplicity is the problem as this leads people to think its easy and it attracts the "shortcut" crowd who are never going to put in the effort / discipline to be a successful trader.