BinaryOptions.net Forums Signals/Robots/Autotraders etc

Signal Push & Signal Rush

Comments

• lotzofbotzlotzofbotz Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭✭
    I feel for you if you are a patent lawyer or any kind of lawyer for that matter lol. It is nice to know that "Signal>Push's" signal providers are not tied to their platform under the T&Cs and free to provide signals else where if they so desired as Ryan has stated.
  • SignalPushcomSignalPushcom Posts: 132
    edited July 2015

Hi everyone, I am sorry that my post has resulted in somewhat of a heated debate. If I can offer some opinion as I am a patent lawyer by training.

Based on everything I have read, a patent pending only applies to its underlying jurisdictions, whether this is a design or process patent. Signal Push' patent has only been filed and not granted and is only for the U.S jurisdiction and in a completely online world. Unless Signal Push has patent coverage for its replication technology for all jurisdictions (covered by the Madrid protocol), unfortunately, they cannot do anything legally if their competitor who uses the exact technology chooses to locate their servers in jurisdictions where Signal Push does not have coverage. They can send C&D notices but it will fall on deaf ears as there is very little extradition allowances in such disputes.

From my time in patent law, global coverage for a software process patent can take 6 years and cost upward of $750,000. I don't think I am going out on a limb if I say that Signal Push does not have that type of funds to dedicate to global patenting. If they do, Kudos, but having checked the patent registry at the USPTO, I don't see this.